Grains to Avoid:
Wheat (Einkorn, Durum, Faro, Graham, Kamut, Semolina, Spelt), Rye, Barley and Triticale (crossing wheat and rye).
Common Foods With Gluten to Avoid:
Beers, Breading & Coating Mixes, Brown Rice Syrup, Communion Wafers, Croutons, Dressings, Drugs & Over-the-Counter Medications, Vitamins, Herbal Supplements, Energy Bars, Four & Cereal Products, Imitation Seafood, Marinades, Pastas, Processed Lunch Meats, Prepared foods, Soy Sauce, or Soy Sauce Solids, Soup Bases, Stuffing, Dressings and Thickeners.
Distilled alcoholic beverages and vinegars (with the exception of malt vinegar) are gluten free. There are no harmful gluten peptides. Research indicates that the gluten-peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process. Wine is also gluten free. Beers, ales, lagers and malt vinegars are NOT gluten free.
There are gluten free beers available in the United States and for those adventurous ones, there is always the option of brewing your own.
See a complete list of GFCF substitutions